Skip to content

Heroes of East 17th

June 25, 2009

I was rather late strolling home from work this evening and it was already dark, so I wasn’t really expecting to come across anything to photograph, though I was scanning as I strolled, nonetheless. Good thing I was taking taking in my surrounds, as I was brought to a grinding halt when I spotted a drawing of Spiderman on a panel of wood outside an apartment building. Mid-stride, I reached in my messenger bag and pulled out my camera, automatically setting it for low light and adjusting the zoom.

"We can be heroes..."

I stood there and took a series of photos and then something told me I should check out the scene to see if there were anymore boards that had been adorned. Wouldn’t you know, on the opposite side of the gateway there was in fact another board that had been decorated, with not one, but three comic book heroes!

"...Just for one day."

These aren’t just your run of the mill, kinda crappy doodlings either. These guys are special.

"We could steal time, just for one day."

"We can beat them, for ever and ever."

"I, I can remember (I remember) Standing, by the wall (by the wall) And the guns, shot above our heads (over our heads) And we kissed, as though nothing could fall (nothing could fall) And the shame, was on the other side. Oh we can beat them, for ever and ever. Then we could be heroes, just for one day."

I hope that whoever did these sketches keeps drawing them and if you see this post and have a site that I can point people to, please feel free to contact me and I will add it to this post.

(Lyrics: Hereos, David Bowie. Photos: Christopher Stribley. Sketches: You tell me.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

